跳到内容
开始内容

人物

专访文化研究系新系主任

专访文化研究系新系主任

Niranjana 教授於今年八月起出任文化研究系系主任。多才多艺的她,精通五种语言,除教学外,也从事写作及研究,更是一位印度古典乐曲的歌唱家。

 

印度土生土长的Niranjana 教授,凭她的能力与经验,曾踏足全球许多国家;究竟是什么原因令她最终选择扎根於香港和岭南大学呢?

 

过去逾15 年,她均为亚际文化研究协会的骨干成员,活跃於协会的亚洲网络。就处理协会的工作而言,香港比印度对她更方便。

 

谈到为何选择岭大, 教授提及与岭大早有渊源。90 年代后期,她在印度成立了一个研究中心,名为「文化及社会研究中心」,也是当时亚洲区除岭大外唯一的文化研究机构。她说:「我们对岭大很熟悉。」因缺乏资金,文化及社会研究中心於2014 年结束,当时她已是岭大人文学特聘兼任教授。现在她又获聘为文化研究系系主任,过渡事宜便变得较为简单。

 

工作具挑战性却有意义

教授在岭大讲授两个本科科目,分别为「性别和文化政治」及「数码文化研究」,亦负责所有相关的导修课。虽然她有教导本科生的经验,但在印度主要是给研究生授课。

 

「我们在印度的文化及社会研究中心,每年为五至六位学生提供辅助博士课程。我从以往辅导博士生转为教导本科生,最初以为会是我最大的困难,但其实原来没有问题。我反觉得很享受呢。」

 

她说尤其喜欢与岭大的年轻本科生相处:「年青人刚开始思索人生方向,正值香港多事之秋,我喜欢跟他们谈话交流。

 

她讲授的「性别和文化政治」约有36 位学生修读,当中包括来自三、四个国家的交换生。至於另一科目「数码文化研究」,修读人数不多,她认为也许学生未有意识到数码科技应用在学术世界的重要性。

 

「数码文化研究」是由她构思的新科目,背后理念是通过建立网站和善用分类来学习思考。「举例,如果你要为研究主题建立网站,必须厘清主题的各个细项,以及如何以年龄或性别分类。这样有助训练批判性思考。

 

Niranjana 教授另一项职责是文化研究系的日常管理工作。虽然她不认为这方面的工作会有什么困难,尤其是相较於印度一些大型学院的工作;不过,她也非常感谢行政人员对她的鼎力支持。

 

文化研究系的未来方向

尽管她担任系主任一职只有数个月,她已开始思考文化研究系今后的发展。当务之急是填补两个教员空缺,她坦言没有预期甫上任便要处理这事情。「我们要物色的人才,必须在其学术领域内与亚洲区有某方面的联系,亦需要同时擅於教学和研究。

 

「我们想找的人才,要对亚洲区有一定认识;能够做比较研究;能运用一种语言以上;并且在其领域内正在进行有趣的研究。这样的人才对文化研究系非常宝贵。」

 

她亦希望能与香港其他学术机构合作,例如香港演艺学院。文化研究系前系主任李小良教授目前是演艺戏曲学院的院长。

 

她的另一想法是开办一个重点放在香港的共同学位,但同时可扩展为一个区域学位。Niranjana 教授亦希望扩阔文化研究系博士课程的范围。除此之外,一直致力学术研究的她,亦热衷於进一步加强大学的研究工作。她说:「我认为优秀的研究平台能够滋养教学。教师不可以只是教学,同样地,研究员不可以只做研究。我在印度成立学院,所持的理念是能够将最基本的教学与最先进的研究联系起来。这是创造有意义的知识的不二法门。」

 

热衷音乐和研究音乐学习

除了学术追求外, 教授亦有一些雄心壮志去拓展个人的兴趣。其中之一是撰写著作《Musicophilia in Mumbai》,而她的灵感是来自英国神经科医生Oliver Sacks 的畅销书。在这本书里,她探索在19 世纪的孟买,人们对印度古典音乐的热情,而欧洲的留声机生产商当时专诚来到孟买制作唱片,成为世界上其中一批最早出版的唱片。她说,许多人通过这些唱片初次接触古典音乐;亦让孟买第一所音乐学校得以成立。Niranjana 教授把周末时间用於这个著书计划,希望明年初或最迟年中能够完成。

 

她另一个兴趣是进行一项比较研究计划,内容是比较在孟买、上海和香港三个地方的音乐学习情况。Niranjana 教授本身是歌唱家,她很想知道那些并非来自音乐家庭的人如何学习音乐,以及为何会对音乐着迷。她认为这项研究有助探讨教学法,以及了解一些已消失的早期传统如何与现今世代联系起来。

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

People

Interview with new Cultural Studies Department Head

Interview with new Cultural Studies Department Head

The new head of the Department of Cultural Studies sinceAugust this year, Prof Tejaswini Niranjana is a woman of many talents. She is a teacher, author, researcher, a multilingual academic conversant in five languages, and even a singer specialising in Indian classical music.

 

With all of her abilities and an academic career that has taken her from her native India to many countries across the globe, why did she choose Hong Kong and Lingnan University to put down roots?

 

She has also been working across the Asian network of the Inter-Asia Cultural Studies Society for more than 15 years, and she thought managing its work would be easier from Hong Kong than it was from India.

 

As for her choice of Lingnan, this was a matter of renewing a connection that began when she founded a research centre in India, the Centre for the Study of Culture and Society. At that time (the late 1990s), the Centre was the only cultural studies institution in the region aside from Lingnan. “We knew Lingnan well,” she says. By the time the Centre closed in 2014 due to a lack of funding, she was already working at Lingnan as a Distinguished Adjunct Professor of Humanities, so the transition was an easy one.

 

Challenging but rewarding

At Lingnan, Prof Tejaswini Niranjana is teaching two undergraduate courses — Gender and Cultural Politics, and Digital Cultural Studies — as well as running all of the associated tutorials. Although she had taught undergraduates before, her teaching duties in India had been primarily at the graduate level.

 

“At the Centre for the Study of Culture and Society we had a curated PhD programme of maybe five or six students a year. To go from that to teaching undergraduate students, I thought would be the biggest hurdle, but actually it’s fine. I’m quite enjoying myself.”

 

She particularly enjoys dealing with the young undergraduate students at Lingnan. “I like talking to people who are just beginning to figure out what to do with their lives and are at the cusp of many things happening in Hong Kong today."

 

In her Gender and Cultural Politics course, there are around 36 students, including exchange students from three or four different countries. The other course she teaches, Digital Cultural Studies, has a much smaller enrolment as Prof Niranjana feels students do not yet recognise the application of digital technology in the academic world.

 

The idea behind the latter course, which Prof Niranjana developed herself, is that one can learn how to think by building a website and making use of categories. “For example, if you are building a site about the topic of work, you have to ask what kind of work and how it is classified by age or gender, then use that as a way to think critically."

 

Another duty that comes with her role is the day-today running of the department. Although she feels it is manageable, especially compared with some of the big educational institutes in India, she is highly appreciative of her administrative staff, who she feels provide excellent support.

 

Future direction for the department

Although she has only been with Lingnan for a few months, Prof Niranjana is already considering where to take the department in the years ahead. First up, though, is filling two imminent staff vacancies — something she did not expect she would have to do on her arrival. “We are looking for people who are connected with the region in some way and who have involvements with it, as well as being excellent at teaching and research.

 

"We want people who can show some knowledge of the region, are capable of doing comparative work, know more than one language and are doing interesting work in the field. They will be assets to the department.”

 

She is also looking for opportunities to collaborate with other academic institutions within Hong Kong, such as with the Academy for Performing Arts where the former head of the department, Prof Li Siu-leung, is currently the dean of the School of Chinese Opera.

 

One possibility would be to offer a co-degree focused o Hong Kong but capable of being extended into a regional degree. She would also like to widen the scope of the Department’s PhD programme. Beyond this, she is keen to expand the research being conducted at the university, as this has been the focus of most of her professional life.  “I believe you cannot fertilise teaching unless you have a good research platform,” she says. “You can’t have teachers who are only teachers, and you can’t have researchers who don’t do anything but research. The philosophy of the institution I built in India was you could make a connection between the most elementary teaching and the most advanced research, which is the only way you can produce meaningful knowledge.”

 

A passion for music and learning

In addition to her strictly academic pursuits, Prof Niranjana has some ambitious goals of her own. One of these is a book, Musicophilia in Mumbai, inspired by the best-seller of the late British neurologist, Dr Oliver Sacks. Through this book, she is exploring the public passion for Indian classical music that developed in 19th century Mumbai, where gramophone manufacturers from Europe came to make some of the world’s earliest recordings. Many people got their first exposure to classical music through these recordings, she says, and this led to the formation of the first music schools in the city. Devoting time to this project on weekends, she hopes to finish the book by the middle of next year.

 

Prof Niranjana is also interested in carrying out a comparative project on music learning practices in Mumbai, Shanghai and Hong Kong. A singer herself, she is interested in how people who are not from musical families learn and develop an obsession for music. This, she says, tells us a lot about pedagogy and the way the present is connected to earlier traditions that have disappeared or become invisible.