跳到内容
开始内容

活动花絮

杰出学者公开讲座探讨贸易自由化协议前景

杰出学者公开讲座探讨贸易自由化协议前景

普林斯顿大学 John J F Sherrerd 第52任大学经济学荣休教授Avinash K Dixit教授於3月24日应邀到访岭大,在以「贸易自由化协议前景如何?」为题的杰出学者公开讲座中,与教员和同学分享见解和交流学术观点。

 

Dixit教授在2009年至2016年间为岭大经济学系特聘兼任教授。经济学系主任林平教授在讲座的欢迎辞中,感谢Dixit教授在过去多年对学系作出的贡献。

 

在讲座中,Dixit教授根据近期英国去留欧盟公投和美国总统选举等事件,审视了现时贸易谈判的情况。他利用博弈论的见解,提出国家之间的贸易协定应该包含相应的国内政策条款,从而增加这些协议的认受性和可持续性。一个重要的政策条款,是在可行和可取的情况下,对贸易中 「输家」的补偿政策。

 

超过60位来自岭大、政府机构、业界及其他院校的参加者出席了是次讲座。

杰出学者公开讲座探讨贸易自由化协议前景

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Campus Snapshots

Distinguished public lecture discusses future for trade liberalisation agreements

Distinguished public lecture discusses future for trade liberalisation agreements

Prof Avinash K Dixit, John J. F. Sherrerd '52 University Professor of Economics, Emeritus at Princeton University, was invited to visit Lingnan University to share his views and exchange academic ideas with colleagues and students on 24 March at the Distinguished Public Lecture entitled “Is There Any Future for Trade Liberalization Agreements?”.  

 

Prof Dixit is the Distinguished Adjunct Professor of Economics in Lingnan University from 2009 to 2016.  Prof Lin Ping, Head of Department of Economics gave a welcome speech at the beginning of the lecture, and thanked Prof Dixit’s contributions to the Department in the past years.

 

In the lecture, Prof Dixit reviewed the current state of trade negotiations in the light of issues such as the Brexit vote and the US presidential election.  Using insight from game theory, he proposed that relevant domestic policy provisions be included in trade agreements between countries, as a means to increase the credibility and sustainability of such agreements.  An important policy provision is the policies which aim at compensating “losers” from trade, to the extent that is feasible and desirable.

 

More than 60 participants from Lingnan University, authorities, industries and other institutions attended the lecture.

Distinguished public lecture discusses future for trade liberalisation agreements