跳到內容
開始內容

嶺大視角

平等機會活動推動尊重多元

平等機會活動推動尊重多元

嶺南大學第三屆「平等機會活動」已於本月中圓滿結束,連串活動包括展出一名使用輪椅的少數族裔學生畫作的「夢‧菲‧輪」畫展、一系列工作坊、講座、論壇分享會及社區服務活動等。嶺大平等機會委員會主席梁旭明教授希望,活動可進一步促進師生尊重多元,體現嶺大博雅教育的精神。

 

今年已是嶺大平等機會委員會連續第三年舉辦「平等機會活動」,今屆主題為「尊重多元、實踐共融」。梁旭明教授表示,活動主題由首屆的「認識多元」,到上屆的「欣賞多元」,以至今年的「尊重多元、實踐共融」,均是循序漸進。「我們希望大家在認識及欣賞多元後,能進一步尊重多元,主動踏出第一步,尊重彼此的不同。特別是在如今社會分化的大環境下,人與人之間或會因意見不同而出現語言衝突,而大學是社會的縮影,因此我們希望透過今次活動,提醒大家尊重多元的重要」。

 

梁教授表示,在過去兩年,嶺大均推出一些措施及計劃,致力推動校園共融,「例如嶺大平等機會委員會設有學生大使計劃,希望學生大使主動與有特殊學習需要的同學交朋友,了解他們的需要,特別是在宿舍生活及課堂上。我們會向學生大使提供訓練,教導他們溝通技巧,培養他們的敏感度、同理心及反省能力,以達致友善及有效的溝通。」

 

除了關顧有特殊學習需要的學生,校方亦致力在政策方面提倡校園內的「平等機會」,梁教授說:「校方已制訂一系列政策,不論在入學收生、教與學、校園設施等多方面,均推動平等機會,例如在校園增設無障礙設施;在招聘方面,校方亦有與部門溝通,確保招聘過程提供平等機會。」梁教授補充,假若校方收到有關歧視的投訴,亦會按既定機制處理有關個案。

 

梁教授希望,以上措施可在校園內提倡平等意識,保障不同人士的權益及機會,從而讓學生學習多角度思考,體現嶺大博雅教育的精神。「我們最希望做到的,是促進校園內互相關愛及認識多元的開放態度,特別是嶺南大學作為一所博雅教育學府,其核心價值之一就是鼓勵師生互相尊重包容,經常保持開放態度,接受多元文化」。

 

事實上,在過去兩年,嶺大平等機會委員會所付出的努力取得一些直接或間接的成果,梁教授說:「與今年相同,以往我們都有舉辦少數族裔論壇分享會,這些分享會讓我們明白到少數族裔在香港所面對的結構及制度不公。」梁教授又稱,更重要的成果是,在校園平等意識提升下,校方近年在制訂科目、活動及服務硏習項目時,都把「尊重多元」作為重要考慮。「舉例說,校方在物色服務硏習伙伴機構時,會比以往更積極考慮與多元化的機構合作,如傷健團體、長者團體、婦女組織等,讓學生可透過服務硏習接觸不同社群及議題,認識及尊重多元。」

 

梁教授表示,嶺大平等機會委員會將繼續努力提倡尊重多元的意識,希望有關信息可在嶺大社群中進一步深化。

EOC 2017   eoc

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Insights

Equal Opportunities Awareness Campaign promotes respect for diversity

Equal Opportunities Awareness Campaign promotes respect for diversity

Lingnan University’s 3rd Equal Opportunities Awareness Campaign was concluded in mid-March with a series of activities organised, including the “Flying Dreams in a Wheelchair Art Exhibition” presented by an ethnic minority student in wheelchair, and various workshops, lectures, forums and community service activities.  Prof Lisa Leung Yuk-ming, Chairperson of the Lingnan University Equal Opportunities Committee (LUEOC) hopes the Campaign can further promote respect for diversity to teachers and students and reflect the essence of Lingnan’s liberal arts education.

 

It is the third consecutive year that the LUEOC organises the “Equal Opportunities Awareness Campaign”.  The theme for this year is “Respect for Diversity”.  From “Understanding Diversity” of the first year, to “Appreciating Diversity” of last year, and to “Respect for Diversity” this year, Prof Leung said that the themes were arranged in a progressive manner.  “We hope people could take a step further to respect diversity after being able to understand and appreciate diversity.  Particularly in today’s macro-environment in which the society is divided, people may have verbal conflicts due to difference in opinions.  As the university is an epitome of the society, we hope to remind everyone of the importance of respect for diversity,” said Prof Leung.

 

Prof Leung pointed out that in the past two years, Lingnan has been introducing a number of measures and plans to promote an inclusive campus.  “For example, LUEOC has launched a student ambassador programme in which physically healthy student ambassadors take the initiative to make friends with students with special educational needs (SEN) to understand their needs, especially in hostel life and school life.  We provide training to student ambassadors, teach them communication skills, and cultivate their sensitivity, empathy and self-reflection ability to achieve friendly and effective communications.”

 

In addition to caring for SEN students, the University is committed to promoting “equal opportunities” on campus in terms of policy.  “The University has formulated a series of policies to promote equal opportunities, whether it is for admission, teaching and learning, and campus facilities such as introducing barrier-free facilities.  For staff recruitment, the University has communicated with departments to ensure equal opportunities are provided in the recruitment process,” said Prof Leung.  She added that if the University receives complaints related to discrimination, they will also be handled in accordance with established mechanism.

 

Prof Leung hopes that the above measures can promote an awareness of equal opportunities on campus and protect the rights and opportunities of different people, so as to enable students to learn how to think in multiple perspectives and demonstrate the essence of Lingnan’s liberal arts education.  “What we want to achieve most is to promote an open-mindedness of mutual care and understanding of diversity on campus, as Lingnan is an institution of liberal arts education whose core value ​​is to encourage teachers and students to respect and accept each other, and to always maintain an open attitude to accept different cultures.”

 

In fact in the past two years, the efforts of LUEOC have paid off directly or indirectly.  “As in this year, we have held forums for ethnic minorities in the past to share their stories.  From this we get to know the structural and institutional unfairness faced by ethnic minorities in Hong Kong,” said Prof Leung.  She added that with the enhanced awareness of equal opportunities on campus, the University has put “respect for diversity” into top consideration in the development of the curriculum, activities and services in recent years.  “For example, the University will target more diversified organisations when sourcing partner organisations for Service-Learning projects, such as disabled groups, elderly groups and women's organisations.  This allows students to get in touch with different communities and issues through Service-Learning, and understand and respect for diversity.”

 

Looking ahead, Prof Leung stated that LUEOC will continue to deepen the message among LU community.

EOC 2017  eoc