跳到內容
開始內容

專題

嶺大生物學家與研究夥伴揭示中國自然保護區內的偷獵活動

嶺大生物學家與研究夥伴揭示中國自然保護區內的偷獵活動

隨着愈來愈多棲息地遭受破壞和被開墾,人們或會認為自然保護區是受威脅物種的最後避難所。然而,嶺南大學生物學家方健恩教授與其研究夥伴,包括來自廣東省動物保護與資源利用重點實驗室的龔世平博士,以及廣東省生物資源應用研究所的施海濤博士兩名首席硏究員,早前進行了一項研究,顯示中國內地自然保護區的情況並非如此。

 

中國內地已建立了約2,700個自然保護區,覆蓋範圍達146萬平方公里,但許多都管理不善,以致容易出現偷獵活動和被人類侵佔。由方教授及來自海南師範大學、廣西大學、北京大學和廣東多個實驗室研究人員所進行的一項為期12年的研究項目發現,在廣東、廣西及海南省56個調查所覆蓋的自然保護區中,全部均有龜的偷獵活動。

 

硏究團隊透過實地考察、業界調查和面談收集數據。從實地考察所得,團隊經常在自然保護區內碰到獵人,並發現許多狩獵工具。與歷史數據或鄰近較少受狩獵影響的地區比較,調查地區內龜的生活密度減少逾89%。在廣東、廣西和海南省64個市場的調查中,發現了15個本地品種共逾4,100隻野生捕獲的龜,包括國家自然保護聯盟瀕危物種紅色名錄上的部分瀕危和極危品種。

 

根據面談結果,偷獵活動常見於61%自然保護區。在89%自然保護區中有工作人員參與偷獵,他們的動機除為了自己享用獵物,亦為了出售獵物獲利。比起自然保育,大多數(62%)自然保護區的管理人員對商業項目更感興趣,這可從84%自然保護區建有水力發電廠和作生態旅遊用途的酒店及餐廳反映出來。

 

自然保護區內偷獵活動的驚人影響並不只限於龜,其他具有食用和貿易價值的物種亦有被偷獵跡象。這主要由於管理不善,以及缺乏對自然保護區管理人員的有效監督。硏究團隊提出以下建議:(1)自然保護區內的商業活動應嚴格受國家政策限制;(2)建立有效的檢討制度,以評估自然保護區的效用;(3)對自然保護區管理的嚴格監督應有學術機構、非政府組織和社交媒體的參與。

 

方教授說:「我們希望團隊的研究工作有助改善保育中國內地的豐富生物多樣性。」有關硏究結果已刊登於《當代生物學》期刊第27卷。

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Insights

Lingnan University biologist and research partners unveil poaching activities within China’s nature reserves

Lingnan University biologist and research partners unveil poaching activities within China’s nature reserves

With increasing habitat destruction and harvesting, one may think that nature reserves are the final refugia for threatened species. Research studies done by Lingnan University’s biologist Prof Jonathan Fong and his research partners, including principal investigators Dr Gong Shiping from Guangdong Key Laboratory of Animal Conservation and Resource Utilization as well as Dr Shi Haitao from Guangdong Institute of Applied Biological Resources, showed that this is not the case within Mainland China’s nature reserves.

 

Mainland China has established about 2,700 nature reserves covering 1.46 million km², but many are poorly managed, leaving them vulnerable to poaching and human encroachment. In a 12-year research project conducted by Prof Fong and researchers from Hainan Normal University, Guangxi University, Peking University and various laboratories in Guangdong, it was discovered that poaching of turtles occurred in all of the 56 nature reserves surveyed in Guangdong, Guangxi and Hainan Provinces.

 

Data were collected through field surveys, trade surveys and interviews. From field surveys, the team frequently encountered hunters and found many hunting devices in nature reserves. Species in their study showed more than 89% reduction in population density when compared to historical data or nearby sites with minimal hunting pressure. During surveys of 64 markets in Guangdong, Guangxi and Hainan Provinces, over 4,100 wild-caught turtles of 15 local turtle species were found, including some Endangered and Critically Endangered species on the IUCN Red List.

 

According to the interviews, poaching was common in 61% of reserves. In 89% of reserves, staff were involved in poaching to either consume themselves or to sell to supplement their income. A majority of reserve managers (62%) were more interested in commercial projects than nature conservation, as seen by the 84% of reserves having hotels and restaurants for ecotourism as well as hydroelectric power plants.

 

The alarming impact of poaching in nature reserves is not unique to turtles, as there are signs of poaching for all species valuable for food and trade. This is largely due to poor management practices and lack of effective supervision by nature reserve managers. The team makes the following recommendations: (1) commercial activities in reserves should be strictly restricted by national policy; (2) an effective evaluation system should be established to assess reserve effectiveness; (3) strict supervision of nature reserve management should include participation from academic institutes, NGOs and social media.

 

“We hope the team’s research efforts can help improve the conservation of Mainland China’s rich biodiversity,” said Prof Fong. Their research results were published in Current Biology 27.