跳到內容
博雅教育成就一生 Emerald Publishing
開始內容

樂齡科技

嶺大參與賽馬會齡活城市國際研討會暨「全城.長者友善」計劃嘉許禮

2021 年 06 月 16 日

嶺大參與賽馬會齡活城市國際研討會暨「全城.長者友善」計劃嘉許禮

嶺南大學於6月7日參與賽馬會齡活城市國際研討會暨「全城.長者友善」計劃嘉許禮。是次活動給予政府、商界、學術界、非政府組織、社會企業等不同界別的本地及海外專家一個跨界別交流平台,讓與會者分享各地建設長者及年齡友善城市的最佳實踐個案,協力促進合作及持續發展。

 

為時一天的活動包括專題演講、論壇、講座、展覽,以及「賽馬會齡活城市『全城.長者友善』計劃2020」嘉許禮,表揚在香港推行的傑出長者及年齡友善措施。

 

Professor Joshua Mok

莫家豪教授

在論壇的環節中,嶺南大學副校長莫家豪教授主講題目為 “Productive engagement and ageing in productivist welfare regimes: Questing for an age-friendly city in Hong Kong”的演講,從國際角度出發,探討高齡勞動力參與和福利對社會的重要性和影響,並分享了嶺大研究團隊的調查結果。

 

「高齡者勞動參與一直是國際社會政策的戰略發展方向,但只有很少研究會將它與福利制度一併討論。」莫教授說。一項訪問荃灣及離島地區 60 歲及以上人士的調查發現,儘管兩組受訪者對年齡友善城市的看法存在差異,他們皆認為社會對他們的尊重和包容、戶外空間及建築、社區支持和醫療服務,與勞動意向及參與度有關。

 

「令人驚訝的是,儘管兩區受訪者的背景存在顯著的差別,他們皆認為經濟和健康因素與工作意向並沒直接關係。」莫教授補充道。

 

該研究強調地域和結構因素(包括關愛老人的環境及氛圍)的重要性,證明高齡者勞動參與並不取決於個人的收入及健康,而是與社會氛圍、建築環境和社會支援等因素有關。

 

「推廣年齡友善城市,可以積極促進高齡人士的社會參與度,實現健康和富意義的老齡化。」莫教授說。

 

LU participates in Jockey Club Age-friendly City International Conference cum City Partnership Scheme Award Presentation Ceremony

 

活動當日,嶺大向與會者展示嶺大亞太老年學研究中心為中學生而設的「拾步鄉居共建鄉郊STEM設計比賽」的冠軍作品 -- 「免提追蹤買餸車」。由天主教培聖中學同學設計的「免提追蹤買餸車」 設有紅外線自動跟蹤功能,讓長者購物時毋須拿着沉重物件,有助減輕出行負擔。

 

嶺大亞太老年學研究中心獲香港賽馬會慈善信託基金捐助,舉辦賽馬會齡活城市計劃 --「鄉郊樂屯元2」,透過舉辦不同活動及多元化的推廣工作,為居於鄉郊的長者提供支援,並建構「長者及年齡友善社區」。「拾步鄉居共建鄉郊STEM設計比賽」是「鄉郊樂屯元2」其中一項主要活動,七所參賽中學共12支隊伍必須參與STEM課程及進行考察,包括前往長者在鄉郊的居所進行探訪,體驗其日常生活面對的困難,以及認識更多關於年齡友善社區的概念,再設計及製作適合鄉郊長者使用的樂齡科技產品。

 

多年來,嶺大致力開拓及推動香港智能安老及樂齡科技的發展,開展了眾多具影響力的研究和社會項目。最具代表性的項目之一,是為期三年的「嶺大賽馬會樂齡科技與智能安老計劃」。計劃除了開設樂齡科技體驗館,更為學生、高齡人士、護理人員和大眾推出培訓課程和工作坊。

 

 

LU participates in Jockey Club Age-friendly City International Conference cum City Partnership Scheme Award Presentation Ceremony LU participates in Jockey Club Age-friendly City International Conference cum City Partnership Scheme Award Presentation Ceremony LU participates in Jockey Club Age-friendly City International Conference cum City Partnership Scheme Award Presentation Ceremony

Skip to Main Content
Liberal Arts Education Transformation For Life
Start main Content

Gerontechnology

LU participates in Jockey Club Age-friendly City International Conference cum City Partnership Scheme Award Presentation Ceremony

16 Jun 2021

LU participates in Jockey Club Age-friendly City International Conference cum City Partnership Scheme Award Presentation Ceremony

On 7 June, Lingnan University took part in the Jockey Club Age-friendly City International Conference cum City Partnership Scheme Award Presentation Ceremony, which brought together the Government, the business and non-profit sectors, academia and social enterprises from Hong Kong and overseas for knowledge exchange and sharing best practices on building an age-friendly city, as well as providing a network and platform for future collaboration and sustainable development.

 

The one-day event featured plenary and thematic sessions, a thematic forum and an exhibition as well as the Jockey Club Age-friendly City Partnership Scheme 2020 award presentation ceremony, recognising outstanding age-friendly practices in Hong Kong.

 

Professor Joshua Mok

Professor Joshua Mok

At the thematic session, LU Vice-President Professor Joshua Mok delivered a talk on
“Productive engagement and ageing in productivist welfare regimes: Questing for an age-friendly city in Hong Kong”, in which he discussed the importance and impact of productive ageing and welfare on society from an international perspective, and shared the findings of the LU research team.

 

“Productive ageing has been an internationally strategic direction of social policy development, but few studies have placed the discourse within the context of welfare regimes,” he said. A survey of people aged 60 and above in Tsuen Wan and the Islands has found that, despite differences in the perception of various age-friendly city domains, perceived respect and social inclusion, outdoor spaces and buildings, and community support and health services are all associated with productive engagement in both districts​.

 

“Surprisingly, economic and health factors were not associated with productive engagement in either district despite their significant differences​,” Professor Mok added.

 

Highlighting the importance of a place-based approach and structural factors including age-friendly environments, the research indicates that productive engagement is commonly associated with elements of the social atmosphere, the built environment and social provision, but not with individual conditions such as income and health.​

 

​“Promotion of the age-friendly city can play an important role in promoting positive engagement, leading to healthy and productive ageing in place,” Professor Mok pointed out.
 

LU participates in Jockey Club Age-friendly City International Conference cum City Partnership Scheme Award Presentation Ceremony

 

Lingnan also demonstrated its “Smart Shopping Cart” at the event, the winner of the STEM-design competition for secondary school students organised by LU’s Asia-Pacific Institute of Ageing Studies (APIAS). The Pui Shing Catholic Secondary School students’ design has an infrared, automatic motion-tracking system that helps seniors carry heavy goods with less effort.

 

The competition was part of the Jockey Club Age-friendly City Project: Rural Neighbourhood Development Project 2 funded by The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust.

 

Over the years, Lingnan has played a key role in promoting and facilitating the development of smart ageing and gerontechnology in Hong Kong, engaging in extensive pioneering research and social projects, including the LU Jockey Club Gerontechnology and Smart Ageing Project, a three-year programme spin-off from a Gerontech-X lab to educational courses and workshops for students, the elderly, carers and the general public.

 

 

LU participates in Jockey Club Age-friendly City International Conference cum City Partnership Scheme Award Presentation Ceremony LU participates in Jockey Club Age-friendly City International Conference cum City Partnership Scheme Award Presentation Ceremony LU participates in Jockey Club Age-friendly City International Conference cum City Partnership Scheme Award Presentation Ceremony