跳到内容
开始内容

活动花絮

岭大服务研习会议广邀多地讲者交流社会共融

岭大服务研习会议广邀多地讲者交流社会共融

岭南大学於11月12日举办了「在21 世纪以『服务研习』促进社会共融」为题的高等教育服务研习国际研讨会,活动由服务研习处筹办,并作为赛马会「关爱・服务・研习 @ 屯门」计划的其中一部分,报名参与研讨会及延伸活动的与会者超过120人,分别来自香港、印度、新加坡及马来西亚等地。会议邀请了本地及来自哈萨克斯坦、台湾等地的讲者嘉宾,就著多个专题进行交流,包括:全人教育、精益创业、社会创新以及可持续发展,而此次研讨会更展示了多个岭大学生和校友的创业项目。

 

岭南大学副校长莫家豪教授以主礼嘉宾的身分在研讨会上致开幕辞。莫教授强调高等学府在推动创新与创业文化所扮演的重要角色,并从课程设计、校园生活、校园国际化以及社区服务几个方面,为嘉宾介绍岭南大学如何以博雅教育的理念向学生推行服务研习教育。主讲嘉宾哈萨克斯坦阿拉木图管理大学教务长Gulmira Kurganbayeva博士进一步阐述了如何运用服务研习培养大学生的灵商,并认爲灵商应作爲智商和情商外的另一重要维度。

 

小组会议的交流环节中,岭南大学服务研习处总监高永贤博士、香港大学教与学促进中心课程专业发展部总监陈嘉玉博士以及社会企业商务中心首席顾问凌浩云先生一同分享了在大学推行通才教育的途径、社会企业创业过程中如何创造长期效益,以及培养学生对社会企业创业兴趣的方法。

 

在联谊午宴后,与会者就著乐龄智能装备、智慧城市义工服务、平权主义与共融创业进行了分组讨论。在其中一场讨论中,讲者向大家分享了岭南大学与哈萨克斯坦高等学府的人道主义创业合作项目。来自於哈萨克国立大学的Yevgeniya TANASSOGLO女士和Assel ZHANDOSSOVA女士向宾客介绍其大学的一带一路国际研究署,以及和岭南大学服务研习处再次开展人道主义创业暑期课程的有趣经验。

 

除了分组讨论外,初创与年轻企业」展览会和会后活动亦让参与者了解到服务研习处如何与社会各界开展伙伴关系。其中,「初创与年轻企业」展览会由「岭大创业行动」下的「学生创业与知识转移基金」赞助。该基金的主旨在於促进合作创新,为莘莘学子构建创业平台,并向富有创新和创意的学生提供资金以实现梦想。另外,一系列围绕创意思维、课程设计和社区关顾的工作坊,也使来宾得悉服务研习处如何实践大学的博雅教育理念与社区伙伴开展合作,推广富有创新及变革元素的教学方法,从而培养具社会意识的年轻创业家。

Bringing insider perspectives into Inclusive Service Learning  Bringing insider perspectives into Inclusive Service Learning  Bringing insider perspectives into Inclusive Service Learning

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Campus Snapshots

Bringing insider perspectives into Inclusive Service Learning

Bringing insider perspectives into Inclusive Service Learning

Lingnan University hosted the Higher Education Service-Learning Symposium titled “21st Century Service-Learning Model for Inclusive Growth” on 12 November. The event was organised by the University’s Office of Service-Learning and as part of the Jockey Club “We Care, We Serve & We Learn @ Tuen Mun” Programme. Over 120 guests from Hong Kong, India, Malaysia and Singapore had registered for the symposium and various post-conference events. Local and overseas experts from Kazakhstan, Taiwan and elsewhere spoke on a wide range of topics including Education for Whole Person Development, Startups and Social Innovations, as well as Inclusive and Sustainable Development. An exhibition was also held to showcase the companies started up by Lingnan students and alumni and the products offered by these startups.

 

To kick off the conference and welcome more than one hundred guests, Prof Joshua MOK, Vice-President of the University, highlighted the vital role of universities nowadays in fostering a culture of entrepreneurship and innovation and elaborated on Lingnan’s liberal arts tradition in offering service-learning experiences for students through the university curricula, campus life, internationalisation efforts and community service projects.  Building on Prof Mok’s focus on the importance of whole person development, Dr Gulmira KURGANBAYEVA, the Rector of Almaty Management University in Kazakhstan, expounded on the ways to use service-learning to enhance spiritual intelligence which may be regarded as an additional dimension to intelligence quotient (IQ) and emotional quotient (EQ).

 

In a more interactive panel session, Dr Albert KO, Director of the University’s Office of Service-Learning, Dr Cecilia CHAN, Head of Professional Development at the Centre for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning, The University of Hong Kong and Mr Howard LING, Chief Consultant of the Social Enterprise Business Centre shared their views on how to cultivate generic skills of university students, the importance of financial sustainability in social enterprising and their experiences in training students to become social entrepreneurs.

 

After the networking luncheon, participants in the breakout sessions further discussed topics on Smart Devices for Ageing Citizens, Volunteering in a Smart City, Woman Empowerment and Inclusive Entrepreneurship. One of these sessions focused on the humanitarian entrepreneurship collaborations between Lingnan University and the higher education institutes in Kazakhstan. Ms Yevgeniya TANASSOGLO and Ms Assel ZHANDOSSOVA from the Al-Farabi Kazakh National University introduced their One-Belt-One-Road International Research Institute and the plans on developing another Joint Humanitarian Entrepreneurship Summer Academy with the Office of Service-Learning.

 

Apart from the above parallel sessions, an exhibition and a series of post-symposium activities have also offered useful takeaways to guests on how the Office of Service-Learning collaborates with its community partners. The exhibition featured projects of several young social entrepreneurs funded by the Entrepreneurial Knowledge Transfer Fund under the Lingnan Entrepreneurship Initiative which is a collaborative innovation and entrepreneurship platform established by the University to empower entrepreneurs, innovators and inventors to take action for inclusive growth. Workshops on Design Thinking, Curriculum Design and Community Building were organised to demonstrate how the educators in Lingnan deliver a wide range of service-learning projects, promote innovative and transformative teaching methods and nurture socially conscious young entrepreneurs through its unique liberal arts education.

  Bringing insider perspectives into Inclusive Service Learning  Bringing insider perspectives into Inclusive Service Learning