跳到内容
开始内容

岭青成就

金像奖导演黄修平分享导演之旅

金像奖导演黄修平分享导演之旅

黄修平导演的作品喜以校园作为故事背景,今回他重返校园,在岭南大学任驻校艺术家,於2018/19学年第二学期,跟同学们分享他创作路上的得著。

 

黄於1994年在英华书院中学毕业,之后升读香港中文大学艺术系,期间远赴美国爱荷华大学当了一年交换生;十五年后他交出亮眼的成绩表。2013年,他凭《狂舞派》夺得第33届香港电影金像奖及第八届香港电影导演会年度大奖「新晋导演」的殊荣,他另一些作品如《哪一天我们会飞》和《魔术男》,同样是绘画香港年轻人的不同情坏。

 

黄在访问的过程中,无忘当新晋导演时的赤子心。今次回到校园,黄说自己绝无背著前辈之名而来,反而要从学生身上学习。

 

你何时开始对电影产生兴趣?

受到同学的影响及中学老师的启蒙,自少很喜欢创作,其实我在1 6、7 岁时已立志要做导演。中四那年看过《暴雨骄阳》和《世纪末暑假》,初次感受到电影的震撼力和伟大的力量,我就这样单纯地梦想成为导演。当时的社会比较单纯,人也较天真,同学中没有几个会考虑前途,认为感觉好的事就去做。

 

你为何选择入读艺术系?

因为香港当时没有太多电影课程,没有这种风潮和声音,而家人未能送我到海外留学,因此选择了跟电影最接近的艺术系,希望让自己先浸淫在这环境,然后才进入电影行业。

 

为何会选择到美国当交流生?

升上大学二年级,开始有意识地为自己铺路,究竟如何进入电影行业?大学当时有海外交流计划,其中一个选择是美国爱荷华大学,既可申请奖学金,又可以修读电影研究和制作课程,於是我便努力进修英语及考好成绩,最后获取录。那年的交流扩阔我的视野和眼界,也是人生首次接触电影拍摄的专业器材。

 

你的入行经过是怎样?

大学毕业后加入一家录影带发行公司,工作跟创作没半点关系。直至2002年,当时的老板开设电影公司,便找我为电影制作拍摄特辑,算是跟电影制作有点关系。期间我继续拍片、进修及创作。直至拍摄《狂舞派》,才感觉到自己真正在电影行业占一位置。

 

哪个时期是你事业最艰难的时候?如何坚持下去?

算是大学毕业到拍摄《狂舞派》前的十多年间。试过工余时间用些「土炮」工具来制作独立电影,也试过辞去工作去拍摄,甚至想过放弃,幸好又得到嘉许,包括ifva,於是又继续下去。

 

其后跟拍档陈心遥成立公司,预计给自己五年时间,期望能拍摄一部电影,否则便考虑转型。当时仍未有资金,花了很多时间啄磨剧本,搜集了不少资料素材,甚至找来超过200位舞蹈表演者来试镜,不断收集意见,直至机会来临时,那件事才能「爆」出来。

 

你对香港的学生印象如何?跟美国的同学比较有甚么不同?

跟自己读书年代相比,现在的学生比较乖巧和循规蹈矩,有很好的知识和构思,视野亦广阔,擅於应用电影技巧,因为现今美术教育丰富,学习方法进步了和内容有深度。

 

而位於美国中部的爱荷华,偏远宁静,那里的同学很多是农家子弟,大部分未曾离开过美国,甚至纽约也未去过,但文化水准高且崇尚自由,他们的作品虽没有香港人般多构思,却很奔放、大胆和狂野。

 

你认为有志加入电影行业的学生在香港有优势吗?

现在制作电影有很多方法,技术上容易了。我很羡慕这一代,现时年轻人这种普及的拍片风气正是我当年最渴望的。他们有科技、有平台让他们发表,有很多比赛和社交平台可作分享,机会较以往多。

 

为何你有兴趣来大学授课及担任岭大的驻校艺术家?

完成电影《魔术男》后,觉得自己拍得不好,令我重新思索如何成为更好的导演,於是想将这些经验变成教材。另一方面,自己很喜欢跟学生沟通,希望让脑筋被创作环境所包围,激发创意思维,也享受在教书和整理教材时得到的空间和自由度。

 

你现在正投入甚么工作?下一步计划做甚么?

刚完成《狂舞派3》的拍摄工作,现正埋首漫长的后期制作。而下一步,很想在生活和创作上,给自己一个沉淀期。

 

金像奖导演黄修平分享导演之旅

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Student Achievements/Campus Life

[Interview] Artist-in-residence Adam Wong shows how his film directing career takes off

[Interview] Artist-in-residence Adam Wong shows how his film directing career takes off

A school campus is always the backdrop for films directed by Adam Wong Sau-ping. And, today, he is back on campus, this time to take part in the artist-in-residence programme at Lingnan University in the second term of 2018-19 and share his knowledge of the film industry.

 

After finishing at Ying Wa College in 1994, Adam Wong went on to study Fine Arts at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. As an undergraduate, he spent time at the University of Iowa on a one-year exchange programme and found that a very rewarding experience.

 

In the 15 or so years since he graduated, Wong has picked up notable awards including that for Best New Director at both the 33rd Hong Kong Film Awards and the 8th Hong Kong Film Directors Awards in 2013. This was for the highly acclaimed movie The Way We Dance, though Wong is also well known for other works such as She Remembers, He Forgets and Magic Boy. Both these films vividly depict the lives and sentiments of young people in Hong Kong.

 

While looking back on the last few years, Wong explained the importance in his film-making career of remaining pure and innocent at heart. He noted too that he is coming to the Lingnan campus with a desire to learn rather than to seem like a veteran of the industry.

 

When did you first become interested in film?

 

I was initially influenced by an inspiring teacher and by my schoolmates in secondary school. They helped me realise that I love to create and, with that insight, I was determined to become a film director from the age of 17. I was shaken to the core after watching two particular movies, Dead Poets Society and Vacation Summer 1999. They got me dreaming about directing films and I just followed my heart. Everything was relatively simple and straightforward from then on. In a way, I was sort of innocent and didn’t think much about career development.

 

Why did you choose to study Fine Arts?

 

At the time, I didn’t have much choice in Hong Kong. There was no such thing as a university course on film-making, and my family couldn’t afford to pay for overseas study. To prepare myself for the movie industry, I planned to immerse myself in art. That’s why I chose Fine Arts; I felt it was the subject closest to the world of film.

 

Why did you become an exchange student in the US?

 

In my second year, I was trying to figure out how to get into the film industry. At the time there was a student exchange programme, and one of the options was to attend film-making and film production courses at the University of Iowa, which was also offering a scholarship. I made a big effort to improve my English and get a good GPA and, in the end, I was successful. Going to study in the US certainly broadened my perspectives and gave me a first chance to use professional standard filming facilities.

 

How did you later get into the industry?

 

After graduation, I joined a video distribution company which unfortunately had nothing to do with film-making. Then, in 2002, the boss transferred me to his newly opened film production company where I was responsible for producing behind-the-scenes documentaries. Finally, I was doing something directly relevant to my ambitions. From that point on, I relentlessly studied every aspect of the business and started to work on my own films. But not until the start of filming for The Way We Dance did I truly feel I was somebody in the industry.

 

Which was the most difficult period for you?

 

It was probably the decade between graduation and the filming of The Way We Dance. I tried to make some short indie films in my spare time using low-budget DIY equipment, and I even quit my job to focus on that. At times, I felt like giving up. Fortunately, though, I received some awards at ifva, which were a real source of encouragement and made me keep going. 

 

After establishing a studio with producer Saville Chan, I came up with a five-year plan for making a full-length film. Though we didn’t get funding straight away, we never stopped working on the screenplay, gathering research materials, collecting feedback, and even casting more than 200 dancers. When opportunity knocked, we were ready to make a splash.

 

How do Hong Kong students differ from those in the US?

 

Compared with my time, students nowadays are comparatively well-behaved and ready to follow the rules. They are very knowledgeable, have a broad perspective, and good at using various cinematic tricks, thanks to the comprehensive arts education many of them can now enjoy. 

 

When I think back to the students in the remote and quiet state of Iowa, the majority, though highly educated, were “farm boys” who had never been to New York or outside the US. They would talk about loving liberty and, at times, were unrestrained and full of “insanity”.

 

What are the advantages for anyone wanting to enter the film industry in Hong Kong?

 

Nowadays, if you want to make a film, resources and advanced technology are more generally available. It is good to see that interest in film-making is on the rise. It’s exactly what I wanted to see when I was young. You now have advanced technology, platforms to show your work, competitions to enter, and social media where you can share your ideas.

 

Why do you want to teach and be an artist-in-residence?

 

After completing the movie Magic Boy, I wasn’t happy with the results. I thought it was time to review my approach to directing, and I had the idea that teaching others would also help me see where I could improve. Besides that, I enjoy interacting with students; it is good way hear other viewpoints and make you think more creatively.

 

What are you currently working on as your next movie?

 

I have just completed filming the sequel to The Way We Dance and I’m currently doing the post-production work. After that, I’d like to relax and put my mind at ease for a while. 

Adam Wong