跳到內容
博雅教育成就一生
開始內容

研究與影響

嶺大研究發現心理距離降低港人移居大灣區的意願

2021 年 01 月 24 日

 

嶺南大學(嶺大)研究生院公布一項有關「港人到大灣區城市發展意願」的問卷調查結果,發現心理距離無可避免地降低港人到大灣區發展的意願。研究團隊認為,政策制定者需要採取行動,提高市民對大灣區未來發展持積極態度的意識。

 

研究團隊委託國際調查公司Dynata於2019年3月25日至4月1日期間,隨機在全港十八區以網上問卷訪問合共1,028名年齡介乎18至35歲的年輕人,以評估他們對到內地大灣區城市發展的態度、顧慮、到訪大灣區城市的經歷,以及移居到大灣區城市的傾向。

 

團隊根據受訪者報告的月薪分為三個收入組別。月入介乎0到19,999港元之間的受訪者被歸為低收入者;20,000港元至29,999港元之間的受訪者被歸為中等收入者;月收入等於或高於30,000港元的受訪者被歸為高收入者。低收入、中等收入和高收入年輕人的相對佔比分別為四成一(41.9%)、三成一(30.9%),以及兩成七(27.1%)。

 

結果發現,至少六成受訪者表示曾在過去12個月內到訪大灣區城市(圖一)。對於到大灣區發展的顧慮,受訪者普遍最關心到內地工作薪酬較低、擔心內地互聯網受到限制,以及內地徵收的所得稅較高(圖二)。此外,受訪者「有信心大灣區將來會繁榮」,以及「有信心大灣區能為香港年輕人帶來發展機會」的兩項評分,平均分都高於3分(以5分為最高),當中以高收入組別受訪者給予的評分最高,分別為3.35及3.18分(圖三)。不過,對於未來會否移居到大灣區城市,受訪者普遍持中立態度,所得平均分約為2.5分,其中高收入組別給予評分最高,平均分為2.74分(圖四)。

 

嶺大研究生院研究助理教授朱岳峰教授表示,港人對大灣區的看法與心理距離有關:「心理距離是一個多成分概念,包含時間距離、空間距離和社會距離。港人心理上對大灣區未來發展的不確定性造成時間距離感,而兩地邊檢則鑄建空間距離感,兩地不同的政治和經濟制度和生活方式構建社會距離感。心理距離無可避免地降低港人對大灣區的正面認知,因而降低到大灣區城市發展的傾向。」

 

他說,港人實地造訪大灣區城市可以去除空間距離感,也會有助釋除對內地社會的各種疑慮,以縮短社會距離感,而當港人對大灣區未來發展前景抱有積極態度時,將有助弱化時間距離感。

 

領導研究的嶺大副校長暨研究生院院長莫家豪教授表示,大灣區的高速發展能為港人帶來很多機遇,建議政策制定者應從改變港人心理距離的角度提升他們到大灣區城市發展的意願。他說:「改善港人對前往大灣區發展的積極性尤為重要,因為積極的態度足以弱化各項對內地社會和管制的擔憂,增強到訪內地的意願,從而逐漸加強到當地發展的意願。我們建議向高收入人士推廣實地參訪項目和兩地精英面對面交流計畫,因為研究發現,在高收入組別中,到訪內地對會否移居大灣區有顯著影響。」

 

有關研究論文將在快將出版的國際學術期刊《社會問題與公共政策分析》(Analyses of Social Issues and Public Policy)上發表。

 

圖一

LU study shows psychological distance reduces Hong Kong working adults’ intention to live in GBA cities

 

圖二

LU study shows psychological distance reduces Hong Kong working adults’ intention to live in GBA cities

 

圖三

LU study shows psychological distance reduces Hong Kong working adults’ intention to live in GBA cities

 

圖四

LU study shows psychological distance reduces Hong Kong working adults’ intention to live in GBA cities

 

媒體報導

Skip to Main Content
Liberal Arts Education Transformation For Life
Start main Content

Research & Impact

LU study shows psychological distance reduces Hong Kong working adults’ intention to live in GBA cities

24 Jan 2021

 

A survey “Understanding Hong Kong working adults’ aspiration for taking up residence in the Greater Bay Area cities”, conducted by the School of Graduate Studies of Lingnan University (LU), found that the psychological distance definitely reduces people’s intention to move to the Greater Bay Area (GBA). The research team noted an urgent need for policymakers to raise public awareness of the positive aspects of the GBA and its future development.

 

The research team commissioned international survey firm Dynata to draw a sample of young adults in Hong Kong between 25 March and 1 April 2019. A total of 1,028 Hong Kong residents aged between 18 and 35 from all 18 districts were invited to complete an online questionnaire concerning their attitudes and feelings towards GBA cities, including their experiences of visiting them and their intentions of moving there.

 

Respondents were divided into three income groups, based on their self-reported monthly incomes. Those with a monthly income of between HK$0 and HK$19,999 were classified as low-income earners; those between HK$20,000 and HK$29,999 were classified as middle-income earners; while those with a monthly income of or above HK$30,000 were classified as high-income earners. These were 41.9 per cent, 30.9 per cent, and 27.1 per cent, respectively.

 

Survey results show that over 60 per cent of the respondents indicated that they had visited GBA cities in the past 12 months (Figure 1). With regard to people’s concerns about moving to GBA cities, respondents were worried about low wages, internet restrictions and high tax rates in the GBA (Figure 2). However, the average scores for items “I am confident that cities in the GBA will be prosperous in the future” and “I am confident that the GBA will provide development opportunities for Hong Kong’s young people” were above 3 (out of 5). The highest scores were given by the high-income group (3.35 and 3.18, respectively) (Figure 3). Nonetheless, respondents took a relatively neutral position on whether they would consider moving to GBA cities to live and work with an average score of 2.5. Here the high-income group had the highest score (2.74) (Figure 4).

 

Prof Alex Zhu Yuefeng, Research Assistant Professor of the School of Graduate Studies, said that the survey results indicate a significant relationship between psychological distance and people’s perception of the GBA. “Psychological distance is composed of temporal, spatial and social distances. Uncertainty about the GBA’s future produces a sense of temporal distance; the border control between Mainland China and Hong Kong creates a sense of spatial distance, and the different institutional arrangements and lifestyles of the two regions lead to social distance, which inevitably reduces positivity and any intention to move to the GBA,” he explained.

 

He added that field visits to GBA cities could shorten spatial distance and help relieve concerns about Mainland society and governance, and, as a result, lessen social distance. “When people build a positive attitude towards the development of the GBA, this will help reduce temporal distance.”

 

Prof Joshua Mok Ka-ho, Vice-President of LU, who led the study, said that the rapid development of the GBA would generate many new opportunities for Hong Kong people. He urged policymakers to encourage people to work or move to GBA cities by eliminating the psychological distance. “The most important thing is to raise public awareness of the positive aspects of the GBA’s future and development, as this may minimise situational concerns and increase the likelihood of their visiting a GBA city, which may encourage them to move. We highly recommend field visits and face-to-face exchanges between high-income individuals in Hong Kong and GBA cities, as the high-income group was more interested in visiting the GBA.”

 

This survey will be published in the coming issue of the international academic journal Analyses of Social Issues and Public Policy.

 

Figure 1

LU study shows psychological distance reduces Hong Kong working adults’ intention to live in GBA cities

 

Figure 2

LU study shows psychological distance reduces Hong Kong working adults’ intention to live in GBA cities

 

Figure 3

LU study shows psychological distance reduces Hong Kong working adults’ intention to live in GBA cities

 

Figure 4

LU study shows psychological distance reduces Hong Kong working adults’ intention to live in GBA cities

 

Media Report