跳到内容
开始内容

专题

实用经济学及管理: 丘东晓教授

实用经济学及管理: 丘东晓教授

当梁绍荣经济学讲座教授及经济学系系主任丘东晓教授於1月2日踏入岭大校园履新时,他已对如何帮助岭大及学系更上层楼有清晰的方向。

 

加强研究实力、提升工作效率是首要方针。「与其他院校相比,岭大擅长教学,但似乎在研究方面稍逊,我们需要在此下点工夫。」丘教授说。

 

曾任职香港科技大学超过15年及香港大学11年、帮助两校成为世界一流学府的丘教授认为,优化班级规模及加强院校合作可以成为学系重要策略。

 

「小班教学能让教师更专注、建立紧密师生关系。但如果班额只是15个学生和25个学生之差,专注成效其实差别不大。」他说:「从另一角度看,人数相对较多的班级学习氛围会较小班不同,大家讨论、互动、合作的空间较大。班级规模扩大,自然减轻每位教授的教学负担,使其更能分配心神教好每一班。同时,他们亦能腾出更多时间从事研究。我认为这不失为一个双赢方案。」

 

此外,研究除了对经济和学术界有所贡献外,它亦有助提升学者知识水平,帮助他们把知识转移予学生及社会。

 

无可否认,研究数量受学系规模所限,而岭大经济学系仅有其他院校的一半规模。丘教授冀透过加强与其他院校的合作,尤其与内地院校的合作,弥补不足。「内地有很多受过良好培训的专才,例如精於数学的,但他们不知如何监督研究工作,当中也有一些不懂如何在英文期刊发表研究的学者。我们却拥有这方面优势,能担当研究的主导工作,而他们能提供人力资源及技术支援,共同合作。」

 

作为国际贸易及中国经济学专家,丘教授相信数据及实证研究已经成为学术界以至现实世界的焦点,故学系应以此为先。「就国际贸易而言,有关数据的研究已成主流,而有关中国的研究亦显得重要。」他解释道:「回溯20年前,有关国际贸易的中国数据非常难以发布,一方面国外人士对中国缺乏了解,另一方面他们对中国数据的准确性及收集方法存有怀疑。现在,中国数据参考价值已很高,其研究亦已成焦点。我认为这类实证研究及有关中国的议题,是学术研究的大方向。」

 

於广州中山大学接受教育,并於加拿大英属哥伦比亚大学取得硕士及哲学博士学位的丘教授,现时与复旦大学、中国人民大学、浙江大学和上海大学的多位中国经济学者合作。丘教授以精通中国见称,常於媒体发表有关中国及中美贸易战的评论。

 

「其实我们很难为中美贸易战作出准确的预测——两国不只是在贸易上角力,更关乎整体经济及政治文化。」丘教授解释:「当两国仍然存在差异,分歧在所难免。综观而言,我不认为两国能於数年内解决纷争。」

 

他认为两国即使签署贸易协议,这「战争」也会持续下去。「你可以视之为好的开始,但若干月后,难保美国再指责中国。在我看来,唯一解决办法就是对谈及沟通。当两个人或两国有所分歧,以往做法是委托第三方出面作主,双方不用展开对谈,只需向调解人、法庭转达诉求。但这场贸易战没有法庭,而以往一直担当世界『中间人』角色的世界贸易组织,却因能力所限未受两国重视。缺乏独立第三方的协调,两国唯有依靠直接对谈解决问题。因此,积极展开对话至关重要。」

Applying economics to his leading role: Prof Larry Qiu Dongxiao

丘教授醉心研究之余,也热爱运动。他曾热爱足球,是巴塞隆纳球迷。
他现在於闲时爱打网球和羽毛球,并「努力坚持每日游泳或缓步跑——至少每星期几次。」

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Feature

Applying economics to his leading role: Prof Larry Qiu Dongxiao

Applying economics to his leading role: Prof Larry Qiu Dongxiao

When Prof Larry Qiu Dongxiao (丘東曉) set foot on Lingnan’s Tuen Mun campus on 2 January, his first day as Sydney S.W. Leong Chair Professor of Economics and Head of the Department of Economics, he already had a clear vision and roadmap of how to raise Lingnan and the Department to a higher level.

 

First, by strengthening Lingnan’s research capacity and raising the faculty’s efficiency. “If you compare Lingnan to other institutions, we are good at teaching, but perhaps we are weaker in research, and that’s something we need to catch up,” Prof Qiu said.

 

Optimising class sizes and increasing collaboration will be key tactics proposed by Prof Qiu, who, in his more than 15 years at HKUST and then 11 years at the University of Hong Kong, helped to transform them both into world-class institutions.

 

“Small class size is good in the sense that teachers will pay more attention and close relationship, but, at the same time, if you’re talking about 15 students, 25 students, it’s not too different in terms of paying attention,” he suggested. “On the other hand, relatively larger classes are also better for the students. The atmosphere is different; the discussion, interaction, working together: that will also help. When each professor teaches fewer classes, by making class sizes larger, they have more time to put into each class and, at the same time, more time to do research. So I think it’s a win-win solution.”

 

Moreover, research can benefit the economy and the academics, and at the same time helps improve the faculty’s knowledge and this is transferred to the students and to society.

 

Research is undeniably limited by the size of a department. Lingnan’s Economics Department is half of the size of its sister institutions, and Prof Qiu sees increasing collaboration, particularly with institutions in Mainland China, as an effective means to tackle this. “There are lots of people there who have really good training in, say, mathematics, but they don’t know how to direct their research; they don’t know how to publish in English-language journals. We have the advantage. We can provide some leading posts where they will have the resources and technical support as well as an army of research students and assistants to work on projects.”

 

As an economics professor specialising in international trade and Chinese economy, Prof Qiu believes empirical research has become the focus of academics and the real world, and should therefore be the Department’s priority in this area. “In international trade, the general trend is for data to be more important, and China is important,” he explained. “If you’re talking about 20 years ago, using Chinese data on international trade was very difficult to publish, partly because people outside China knew little about China, and they didn’t trust the data and the methodology used. But now it has become a focus, and Chinese data is available. I think this empirically driven research and topics related to China are a good direction to take, not only in international trade, but also in other fields of economics.”

 

Prof Qiu, who was educated at Sun Yat-sen University in Guangzhou and got his master’s and PhD at the University of British Columbia, Canada, is currently working with economics scholars from several universities in China, including Sun Yat-sen, Fudan, Renmin, ZheJiang and Shanghai University of Finance and Economics. A recognised China expert, the professor is a popular media commentator on China and the China-US trade war.

 

“It’s very difficult to make a precise prediction, because the China-US trade war is not only a trade issue, it’s an issue of the general economy and political culture,” Prof Qiu clarified. “And then there are still many differences between the two countries, so conflict cannot be avoided. If you look at the big picture, I’m not optimistic you can solve the problem in just a few years.”

 

In his view, trade agreements will not end the “war”. “You will say that it’s good direction to take, but, after a few months, perhaps the US will come back and point a finger at you. The only solution, I think, is to talk, to communicate. In the past, if there was a disagreement between two people or two countries, if you chose a third party to help solve the problem, make the judgment, you didn’t have to talk to each other, but to the mediator, the court. But we don’t have a court. We used to have the WTO, but the WTO is not working; it’s not powerful enough. So without an independent third party to help, the only way to solve a problem is to talk to each other. And so, more dialogue is important.”

Applying economics to his leading role: Prof Larry Qiu Dongxiao

Prof Qiu’s dedication to China-related studies doesn’t stop him from enjoying sport.
He used to play football and is a Barcelona fan. Now he plays tennis and badminton occasionally,
and “tries to swim or jog every day — or a few times a week at least.”