跳到內容
開始內容

合作計劃

嶺南大學化身樂齡科技體驗站

嶺南大學化身樂齡科技流動體驗站

為推廣樂齡科技在香港的應用,提升公眾對智能安老及創新發展的認識,以及了解不同界別如何應對社會高齡化的挑戰,嶺南大學獲香港賽馬會慈善信託基金捐助,推行為期三年的「嶺大賽馬會樂齡科技與智能安老計劃」。

 

計劃於6月28日舉辦「樂齡科技發展藍圖」公開講座,並邀請到安老事務委員會主席林正財醫生、香港賽馬會慈善事務部主管 (長者及家庭) 陳載英女士及嶺大副校長莫家豪教授擔任嘉賓,以及社企代表一同分享樂齡科技的創新發展。

 

莫家豪教授致歡迎辭時表示,隨著人口老化,香港面對安老服務的壓力越來越大。「我們應該思考如何善用現今先進的樂齡科技,在醫、食、住、行各方面協助長者在院舍、社區,甚至家中改善生活、安享晚年。」莫教授說。

 

他表示,嶺大很欣喜得到馬會捐助,啟動「嶺大賽馬會樂齡科技與智能安老計劃」。

 

「我們將在大學校園開設樂齡體驗館,展示與醫、食、住、行相關的樂齡科技產品,增進長者在該領域的認識,並為他們提供體驗樂齡科技產品的平台,期望長遠有助提升長者的生活質素。」莫教授說。

 

林正財醫生以「官、商、民、學的角色」為題發表專題演講。他指出,樂齡科技是安老服務和創新科技的結合,面對高齡化趨勢,全球多個地區已開始研究、開發並推行一些科技方案提升安老服務質素,改善長者生活、減輕護老者和護理人員的負擔和壓力。

 

「特區政府近年亦積極提倡透過科技的介入,回應高齡人口的需要;由於發展樂齡科技涉及資金和基礎設施等範疇,因此跨部門的合作相當重要。」他說。

 

林醫生認為,官、商、民、學應發揮其角色,達致可持續性的安老服務,以應對未來人口急劇老化的挑戰。

 

講座當日亦設有樂齡科技流動體驗站,讓參加者了解相關產品的應用。

 

人稱「輝記」的黃耀輝除了為講座擔任司儀,亦於體驗站「駐守」,為在場人士介紹多項樂齡科技產品。「我本身從事製衣業及酒業生意,閒時在新界西、港島東聯網輯下醫院做義工,從中接觸樂齡科技。」黃說。

 

作為嶺大的「雙料」學生,黃既是嶺大長者學苑學員,也修畢「樂齡科技專員證書課程」,成為樂齡科技先鋒。「該證書課程是助人自助,既讓我了解樂齡科技的知識,也能藉此推廣開去,協助改善長者的生活質素。老人家最需要的是『照顧』,偏偏人手未如理想時,樂齡科技就成了重要的輔助工具。」他說。

 

另一位專員凌鄧愛蘭,同樣在嶺大完成相關證書課程,喜見樂齡科技十分實用。「某些長者有吞嚥困難,難以吞下一整顆藥丸。科技就研發了多用途儲藥盒,既能把藥丸磨碎方便以水送服,也能按服用劑量將藥丸切半,又加入服藥響鬧提示等智能系統。一來輕便實用,二來價格相宜,深受大眾歡迎。」

 

體驗站展出多元化的樂齡科技產品,把科技融入長者的日常生活細節中。

 

「我對『鈕扣輔助器』特別感興趣,長者手指不靈光,『扣鈕』這種精巧的動作可能難倒他們,輔助器則助其自行解決生活瑣事,樂齡科技貼心之處莫過於此。」到場參觀的葉太道。

 

是次公開講座為嶺大2019至2022年推行「嶺大賽馬會樂齡科技與智能安老計劃」的其中一項活動。計劃得到「行政長官社會資助計劃」的推薦,並獲香港賽馬會慈善信託基金捐助,鼓勵樂齡科技及智能安老社會創業發展。

 

計劃推行以「樂齡科技在醫、食、住、行」為主題的活動及教育平台,培育樂齡科技人才;並進行基線研究,建立樂齡科技產品及服務研發、社會創新及創業的數據庫,向業界和政府提出創新的發展方案及相關的政策建議。

Lingnan turns into a mobile gerontechnology lab  Lingnan turns into a mobile gerontechnology lab  Lingnan turns into a mobile gerontechnology lab

Lingnan turns into a mobile gerontechnology lab  Lingnan turns into a mobile gerontechnology lab  Lingnan turns into a mobile gerontechnology lab

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Engagements

Gerontechnology showcase on campus

Lingnan turns into a mobile gerontechnology lab

To promote gerontechnology in Hong Kong and raise public awareness of smart ageing and technological innovations, The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust is underwriting Lingnan University’s LU Jockey Club Gerontechnology and Smart Ageing Project for three years.

 

A public seminar ‘Gerontechnology Development Blueprint’ was held on 28 June to examine how different industries tackle the challenge of an ageing population.

 

Dr Lam Ching-choi, Chairman of the Elderly Commission, Ms Imelda Chan, Head of Charities (Grant Making – Elderly and Family), The Hong Kong Jockey Club, Prof Joshua Mok Ka-ho, Vice-President of Lingnan University, and representatives from several social enterprises were invited to discuss the latest innovations in the field of gerontechnology.

 

In his welcome speech, Prof Joshua Mok Ka-ho stressed that Hong Kong’s elderly care service is under increasing strain due to the soaring senior population.

 

He said, “We should think how to apply gerontechnology in healthcare, dining, living and transport in order to enhance the quality of life of the elderly in care homes, in the community, and at home.

 

“Lingnan is delighted to have received this donation from The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust to launch the LU Jockey Club Gerontechnology and Smart Ageing Project. We will build a gerontechnology lab on the campus to showcase gerontech products, promote awareness among the elderly, and provide hands-on experience of how gerontech products can change their lives for the better.”

 

Dr Lam Ching-choi gave a speech pointing out that gerontechnology is a combination of elderly care services and technological advancement in response to the issues presented by an ageing population. The entire world is researching and developing technological solutions to improve care for the elderly, enhance their quality of life, and provide much needed relief for carers and nursing professionals.

 

Although the HKSAR government promotes the integration of innovations in technology in the elderly care sector in response to the needs of an ageing population, Dr Lam noted that cross-sectoral collaboration is also vital in the funding of gerontechnology and the development of the relevant infrastructure.

 

“Only when the government, the private sector, the community and academia all play their part will Hong Kong achieve sustainability in elderly care services,” he said.

 

The seminar also featured a mobile gerontechnology lab where participants could experience what gerontechnology can do for them and learn more about gerontech products.

 

Seminar emcee, Wong Yiu-fai, introduced a varied display of gerontech devices, saying “Apart from my garment and wine businesses, I spend much time volunteering in hospitals in the New Territories West and Hong Kong East, where I first came across gerontechnology.”

 

A "dual" student at Lingnan, not only does Wong participate in the LingnanU Elder Academy Programme, but he has also completed the LU Jockey Club Gerontechnology and Smart Ageing Project Gerontechnology Practitioner Training Courses as a gerontech ambassador.

 

“The course benefits everyone after all, in the sense that I can pass on what I have learned to others and help improve living standards of the elderly with gerontechnology. ‘Caretaking’ is an urge among the elders and, when nursing is understaffed, gerontechnology helps fill the gap as an important auxiliary,” he said.

 

Another gerontech practitioner, Ling Tang Oi-lan, also graduated from the Lingnan training course, and is fascinated by how practical and well deployed gerontech products are in daily life.

 

“Due to problems swallowing, some people have difficulty taking an entire pill. Gerontechnology helps with a multifunctional storage box for pills, able to grind pills into powder that goes with water more easily, cutting pills in half in seconds as a dose, and integrating a smart reminder system with a pre-set alarm. Portable, user-friendly and affordable, these devices are becoming popular.”

 

The lab showcased an interesting range of products, demonstrating how gerontechnology can be incorporated into everyday life.

 

“I am particularly amused by the ‘buttoning tool’. Aged fingers may not be flexible enough to perform a handy act like buttoning a shirt. This tool somehow gives the elderly an autonomy and ability to solve trivial problems on their own,” a visitor, Mrs Yip, said.

 

The public seminar is part of the three-year LU Jockey Club Gerontechnology and Smart Ageing Project (2019-2022) nominated by ‘The Chief Executive’s Community Project List’ and funded by The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust.

 

The project serves as an educational platform to offer initiatives on ‘Gerontechnology in Healthcare, Dining, Living and Transport’ and to train professionals in gerontechnology. Baseline studies will also be conducted in order to build a database of gerontech products and services, social innovations and start-ups, which provide farsighted policy recommendations to the industry and the government.

 

Lingnan turns into a mobile gerontechnology lab  Lingnan turns into a mobile gerontechnology lab  Lingnan turns into a mobile gerontechnology lab

 Lingnan turns into a mobile gerontechnology lab  Lingnan turns into a mobile gerontechnology lab  Lingnan turns into a mobile gerontechnology lab