跳到内容
开始内容

学者新闻

「传.创」非遗展览 以当代艺术重现传统工艺魅力

「传.创」非遗展览 以当代艺术重现传统工艺魅力

在香港赛马会慈善信托基金资助下,岭南大学与香港艺术学院合办为期四年半的「赛马会『传・创』非遗教育计划」,自2018年起与不同学校合作,透过体验式学习把当代艺术手法融入传统工艺技术当中,活化香港非物质文化遗产,传承民间智慧。

 

首届「赛马会『传・创』非遗教育计划」展览於6月27日至7月7日假荃湾三栋屋博物馆进行;在传统巨型搭棚下活现三个重点非遗项目:扎作、剪纸技艺及长衫制作。

 

展览展出过去一年曾参与重点非遗课程的19间学校约900名学生中,逾百位学生的创作心血,带领公众窥探旧有文化风貌,以当代艺术为传统工艺揭开新一页。

 

在开幕礼上,大会特意安排逾50人的长衫时装表演,由学生穿上自制的长衫化身模特儿,穿梭於巨型搭棚舞台中,以崭新方式演绎个人作品,为展览掀开序幕。

 

作为计划监督,岭南大学协理副校长(学术及对外关系)兼历史系教授刘智鹏教授为展览开幕致辞时表示,时下年青人活在物质充裕的世界;相反,百多年前的人在简朴素质、有限的物质下绞尽脑汁,运用民间智慧为生活加添色彩。

 

「透过制作竹棚、剪纸、缝纫长衫等非物质文化遗产,前人的心思、智慧、心灵手巧尽现眼前。」刘说。

 

在保育非物质文化遗产的同时,他寄语年青人把前人智慧薪火相传。例如使用手机时,思考物质背后的精神,提升现代生活的面貌。

 

「赛马会『传・创』非遗教育计划」结合教育、活化及研究,致力保育、推广、重新定义及活化香港非物质文化遗产。计划积极与传统工艺大师、当代艺术工作者及香港大众联乘,凝聚不同世代以承传非遗、复兴工艺,重新认识传统价值观和香港本土身分认同。

 

计划将推出更多元化的重点非遗课程,包括吹糖、木工技艺及面粉公仔制作等。

 

「传.创」非遗展览 以当代艺术重现传统工艺魅力   「传.创」非遗展览 以当代艺术重现传统工艺魅力   「传.创」非遗展览 以当代艺术重现传统工艺魅力

「传.创」非遗展览 以当代艺术重现传统工艺魅力   「传.创」非遗展览 以当代艺术重现传统工艺魅力   「传.创」非遗展览 以当代艺术重现传统工艺魅力

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Scholar Updates

Reviving traditional craftsmanship through contemporary art

Innovative heritage exhibition gives new life to traditional craftsmanship via contemporary art

In a tech-savvy era overflowing with electronic products, how can historic, traditional craftsmanship carry on in society?

 

Funded by The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, the Jockey Club ICH+ Innovative Heritage Education Programme is jointly launched by Lingnan University and Hong Kong Art School for a period of 4.5 years and has collaborated with schools in Hong Kong since 2018. Through experiential learning that integrates contemporary art methods into traditional craftsmanship, the programme aims to revitalise the intangible cultural heritage (ICH) of Hong Kong and inherit the folk wisdom of ages.

Photo: Prof Lau Chi-pang makes every effort in preserving intangible cultural heritage of Hong Kong with his knowledge transfer project to revitalise traditional craftsmanship.

 

The programme’s inaugural exhibition was held from 27 June to 7 July, lasting 11 days, at the Sam Tung Uk Museum in Tsuen Wan. Displayed under a large set of traditional bamboo scaffolding, an architectural technique longstanding in the local culture, were the three types of artistry featured in the ICH: paper crafting, paper cutting, and cheongsam tailoring.

 

In the past year, a total of some 900 students from 19 schools participated in the programme. Among them, masterpieces by over a hundred students were presented at the exhibition, allowing the young generation to give the public a glimpse of the traditional culture and aesthetics of the city, turning a new page for traditional artistry using contemporary art.

 

The exhibition was kicked off with a cheongsam fashion show, with over 50 students modelling handmade cheongsams for a pioneering catwalk across the bamboo scaffolding stage.

 

Overseeing the project’s overall operation, Prof Lau Chi-pang, Associate Vice-President (Academic Affairs and External Relations) and Professor of Department of History at Lingnan University, remarked at the opening ceremony that compared to today’s material world where everything is easily within reach, people of the past had to rack their brains and use folk wisdom for entertainment given the simple lifestyle and limited resources at the time.

 

“With hands-on experience in ICH mastery such as bamboo scaffolding, paper cutting and cheongsam tailoring, we see the intelligence, wisdom and ingenuity of our past generations,” said Prof Lau.

 

In addition to the preservation of ICH, he hoped for the young to inherit and carry forward the traditional wisdom. For instance, when using mobile phones, he expressed that one should reflect on the purpose of its existence and live meaningfully instead of only looking at the surface.

 

The Jockey Club ICH+ Innovative Heritage Education Programme integrates education, revitalisation and investigation to preserve, promote, redefine and revitalise the ICH of Hong Kong. It actively engages traditional artisans, contemporary art practitioners and the general public to collaborate and revive the ICH, reclaim cultural esteem of artisanship and hence rediscover traditional values and local identity.

 

More courses on sugar-blowing, woodwork and flour doll craftsmanship are in the pipeline for the upcoming year.

Innovative heritage exhibition gives new life to traditional craftsmanship via contemporary art   Innovative heritage exhibition gives new life to traditional craftsmanship via contemporary art   Innovative heritage exhibition gives new life to traditional craftsmanship via contemporary art

Innovative heritage exhibition gives new life to traditional craftsmanship via contemporary art   Innovative heritage exhibition gives new life to traditional craftsmanship via contemporary art   Innovative heritage exhibition gives new life to traditional craftsmanship via contemporary art