跳到内容
开始内容

专题

岭大空手道女将进军亚洲

巾帼不让须眉 岭大空手道女将进军亚洲

又来到一个学年的终结,毕业在即,有人选择投身职场,有人选择继续进修,而她 — 林蔓芝,一位主修文化研究的四年级女生,就决定追寻运动员之梦。

 

林除了是岭大空手道队一员,更於早前冲出香港,代表港队出战在澳门举行的2019第一届亚洲大学生空手道锦标赛,在女子个人组别61公斤或以下项目中摘下一面季军奖牌。

 

这位在亚洲崭露头角的女将为何对空手道情有独钟?

 

与空手道结下不解之缘,一切由2015年的大学迎新说起。

 

「在迎新日亲眼看到空手道表演,觉得很『型』;又想在大学学习一种新运动,挑战自己,就加入校队至今。」林说。

 

林以前是一名排球球员,从前对著的是「球」,现在面对更多的是「人」。

 

「例如空手道里的搏击 (组手 / kumite),就是你自己一个人到台上只身对打,与排球这种团体球类运动截然不同。」

 

林虽为女儿身,却未曾因体能上的差异而放弃成为运动员。

 

「运动本无男女之分。生理上而言,男生肌肉发达,体能方面可能比较占优;但空手道不止著眼於力气,也讲求柔韧性,心思细密的女生在演绎拳法时就更细腻了。」林说。

 

身为女生,受社会定型的还有礼仪举止。拳打脚踢,成何体统?

 

「难道学武术运动就一定是『搂打』(惹事生非、好生事端) 吗?练习和比赛过后,我们还是个斯文的普通人。爸爸口里有时说我『粗鲁』什么的,但心底压根儿还是支持我当运动员,家人和朋友都亲身前来赛事为我打气。」

 

每项武术都有自家规条。「就竞技空手道而言,为了保护对手,既不能出肘和膝,也不能攻击腰带以下的部分,否则视为犯规。」她说。

 

贵为日本国技,空手道 (からて / karate) 注重同样源自日本的武德礼节:押忍 (おっす / osu)。

 

「押忍除了是一个问候语,也是一种精神。就是将自己交给老师,学习时心无杂念,一拳一心。空手道特别讲求尊师重道,老师说什么,我们就做什么。押忍也有忍耐的底蕴,就算挨打也决不能意气用事,要调整心神,重新组织自己的思维。」林解释,「要相信自己,相信老师。」

 

四年的空手道生涯,陪著她成长的当然少不了「恩师」。

 

「所谓『师父』,就是『老师』与『父亲』的合体。师父是我人生中一个启发。记得之前受了伤,要强忍剧痛进行选拔。后来跟师父倾诉,他说:『能够说话就能出拳』。」林忆起师父当时的鼓励。「无论出拳还是踢脚,都是一种表达方式,跟说话如出一辙;两者都是考功架,口试靠平日多分析发言,而空手道同样靠多研究、反覆练习。当苦练日子有功,少许伤患又何足挂齿呢?」

 

功架是从失败中累积而来。原来她四年前第一次参加搏击比赛,就初尝取消参赛资格的处分。

 

「当时还是大学一年级新生,在季军战中,我使出成功得分的一拳,谁知对手因此而流鼻血。在擂台上,若有选手受伤会立即暂停比赛,先观察受伤情况;那次出手太重了,鉴於对手流鼻血不止,裁判就判断我为犯规,取消参赛资格。虽然感到失落,但我没有因此气馁。出拳力度其实反映身体的协调,手脚不灵活才会导致力量集中於拳头上。空手道比赛所规定的『寸止』(すんどめ / sundome),就是『点到即止』的意思,尤其是头部。」林说。

 

空手道带给她的不仅是武术,更加是自我肯定的精神。

 

「以前的我比较懦弱,师父却常教我:怕打照打。空手道是种对抗性的运动,你愈害怕对手,就愈易被对手反击,所以更要勇敢去打。」

 

在林身上,看到勇於求变、敢於突破的自信。

 

「甫进岭大我就听过一句话:To unlearn what you have learned (重新学习新事物)。平日我们接触不少约定俗成的事物,但文化研究鼓励我们要有解构精神,或会发现新事物,摆脱填鸭式教育下所灌输的误解。

 

「成长的过程中,不要轻易定型自己。挫折并非绝路,而且人有更新知识的力量,当你不断尝试、学习,就能改变自己,突破界限。」她说。

   Lingnan karate athlete opens gateway to the Asian sports world Eva Lam  Lingnan karate athlete opens gateway to the Asian sports world

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Feature

Karate athlete Eva Lam: ‘Through trial and error, everyone can be a trailblazer!’

Karate athlete Eva Lam: ‘Through trial and error, everyone can be a trailblazer!’

At the end of the academic year, some graduates look for a job while others pursue further studies. Final year student Eva Lam Man-chi from Cultural Studies has made up her mind to follow her athlete dream.

 

A member of the karate team at Lingnan, Lam was a Hong Kong delegate to the 1st Asian University Karate Championship 2019 in Macau, and the 2nd runner-up in the Women’s -61kg Kumite event.

 

Why has Lam chosen karate? Her story starts in 2015 at the University’s New Student Orientation.

 

“That’s where I first watched a karate performance and realised how cool karate is. Given my hope to play a new sport and see how far I could go, I decided to join the karate team,” says Lam.

 

She had been a volleyball player, so now she changed the target from a ball to real humans.

 

“In a kumite (組手) action of karate, you have to battle with an opponent on your own, which is different from ball games and team sports like volleyball.”

 

In society, women are often portrayed as soft and weak. Lam, however, has never felt inferior to boys as an athlete, despite the genetic difference in physical stamina.

 

“Gender is no different in sport. Physical stamina may be an innate asset to boys because of their muscular build. Yet the trick in karate includes flexibility, which girls seem more able to master and to perform the fine manoeuvres,” she says.

 

Social stereotypes dictate that ladies follow etiquette norms, that punches and kicks are not appropriate for girls.

 

“So are those who learn the martial arts troublemakers who enjoy stirring up fights? Obviously not. Out of uniform, we are as polite and gentle as anyone else. My father sometimes grumbles at me for ‘not being ladylike enough’, but still always supports what I want to do. I am happy to see my family and friends come to cheer for me at events.”

 

Every martial art has its own house rules. “To protect opponents, we karate players cannot use elbows or knees, nor attack below the belt or it’s a foul play,” she says.

 

Karate (からて) is a Japanese martial art that puts emphasis on the Japanese martial virtue ‘osu’ (おっす).

 

“In addition to a greeting, ‘osu’ portrays the karate spirit: to dedicate your whole self, to respect and believe in the teacher, and to concentrate. We act on and comply with whatever our teachers say. ‘Osu’ means endurance too — to endure attacks and never let emotions overpower our minds. Good karate athletes always stay calm for the next steps,” Lam explains, “Believe in yourself and your teacher.”

 

Lam’s mentor has always been by her side, ever since she first took up karate.

 

“My karate master is far from just a teacher. He is more like a father to me, as well as a lifetime enlightenment. Once I had to rise above acute pain from an injury and keep going for a screening process. After listening to my complaint, he said to me, ‘If you can talk then you can fight!’

 

“Martial arts are a way to express yourself, similar to speaking. Both depend on diligence and the efforts that you have made. You do well in oral exams because you try to think and talk, and you master karate by practising and improving. Pain is never an excuse.”

 

Every failure teaches something. Four years ago when Lam first took part in a competition, she had already suffered her first ever disqualification penalty.

 

“I was still a freshman at that time. In the match for the third place, I scored, but my opponent’s nose was bleeding due to my heavy punch. Whenever a contestant gets hurt, the competition is suspended until he or she recovers. Apparently I hit too hard and my opponent kept on bleeding, so I was then subject to a foul penalty.

 

“It was disappointing, but giving up is never an option for me. Your punch reflects how well you can coordinate your limbs. Flexibility determines the ability to control your fist power. That’s what we call sundome (寸止) in karate — every attack should be good enough to score but not harm, especially the head,” says Lam.

 

Karate equips her not only with a martial art but also with self-assurance.

 

“I was a bit of a coward in the past, but my karate master always says ‘fight the fear’. Karate is all about resistance. The more nervous you are, the easier it is for an opponent to strike back. All you can do is to fight on.”

 

Lam proves that girls are not inferior to boys in their determination to change and make a breakthrough.

 

“In early days at Lingnan, I was told to ‘unlearn what you have learned’. Gossip is everywhere, but here Cultural Studies trains our impressionable minds to discover the wrong and reveal the right. We learn to correct misunderstandings with words.

 

“Don’t let stereotypes confine you. Failure gives you new knowledge to refine into creating a better self. Through trial and error, everyone can be a trailblazer,” she says.

 

   Karate athlete Eva Lam: ‘Through trial and error, everyone can be a trailblazer!’ Karate athlete Eva Lam: ‘Through trial and error, everyone can be a trailblazer!’  Karate athlete Eva Lam: ‘Through trial and error, everyone can be a trailblazer!’