跳到内容
开始内容

活动花絮

岭南大学与英国牛津大学合办国际研究生暑期班

岭南大学与英国牛津大学合办国际研究生暑期班

岭南大学与英国牛津大学合办的国际研究生暑期班於6月24日在岭大展开,吸引了来自内地、新加坡、台湾及本港不同大学的研究生及学者参与。今年是岭南大学与牛津大学第三年联合举办研究生暑期班。

 

为期三星期的暑期班旨在为学者及研究生提供平台,讨论一些跨学科研习的重要议题,丰富了参加者在传统学科为本的学术探索以外的视野。首星期的暑期班在岭大进行,随后两星期的课程则於英国牛津大学赫特福德学院进行。

 

暑期班与亚洲及英国的顶尖院校合作,为来自世界不同地区的研究生提供机会,和有共同研究兴趣的伙伴建立联系,并向世界知名的学者学习,丰富他们的研究经验。暑期班的其他合办机构包括韩国梨花女子大学、台湾政治大学、台湾国立中正大学、北京大学、华南理工大学、及浙江大学。

 

在暑期班的首天工作坊上,新加坡国立大学的张保罗教授分享了他在联合国统计司担任司长、新加坡政府担任首席统计师,以及中国等多个亚洲国家担任顾问的经验。基於在统计工作的丰富经验和专长,张分析了数据和资讯在公共政策的制定、检测与评估工作在大数据时代的变化。

 

暑期班在岭大进行的一星期课程,还包括一系列有关各种研究和方法论议题的工作坊,以及学生的简报会、参观访问和其他联谊活动。

 

岭南大学与英国牛津大学合办国际研究生暑期班   岭南大学与英国牛津大学合办国际研究生暑期班

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Event Highlights

Lingnan University and the University of Oxford co-host International Postgraduate Summer School

Lingnan University and the University of Oxford co-host International Postgraduate Summer School

The International Postgraduate Summer School co-hosted by Lingnan University and the University of Oxford commenced on 24 June at Lingnan University, attracting the participation of postgraduate students and faculty members from different universities in mainland China, Singapore, Taiwan and Hong Kong. This is the third year of Lingnan University’s collaboration with the University of Oxford for postgraduate summer school.

 

The Summer School, with a duration of three weeks, aims to provide a platform for scholars and research postgraduate students to discuss some critical issues on interdisciplinary studies which enrich participants’ horizons from traditionally discipline-based academic exploration.  The first week of the Summer School is being held at Lingnan University followed by a two-week programme at Hertford College, University of Oxford, UK.

 

In collaboration with leading institutions in Asia and the UK, the Summer School offers the opportunity for students across different parts of the globe to establish their own research clusters with sharing interests and learning from world-renowned scholars to enrich their research experiences.  Other co-organisers of the International Summer School include Ewha Womans University, National Chengchi University, National Chung Cheng University, Peking University, South China University of Technology, and Zhejiang University.

 

On the first day of the Summer School, the keynote speaker, Prof Paul Cheung, National University of Singapore, shared his working experience as the director of the United Nations Statistics Division, Chief Statistician of the Government of Singapore, and advisors for China and other Asian countries. Drawing on his rich working experience and expertise in statistics, Prof Cheung discussed how the use of data and information in public policy formation, monitoring and evaluation has changed in the big data era.

 

The one-week programme at Lingnan University also offers a series of workshops on various research and methodological issues, as well as student presentations, field visits and social activities.

Lingnan University and the University of Oxford co-host International Postgraduate Summer School   Postgraduate Summer School