跳到内容
开始内容

学院 / 课程动向

岭南大学成立 「香港1967年暴动资料库」计划

岭南大学成立 「香港1967年暴动资料库」计划

为保存及管理六七暴动的相关资料,香港见证1967有限公司将支持岭南大学成立「香港1967年暴动资料库」,作为保存及管理相关资料的学术平台,搜集所得的文献、图像、影视及实物资料加以分类、整理,并有系统地存放在资料库中,以供学者、研究人员及公众人士查阅和使用,协助复原六七暴动的历史图像。该计划由岭大香港与华南历史研究部承办,并於12月11日签署合作备忘录。

 

郑国汉校长在备忘录签署仪式的致辞时表示:「今年是六七暴动51周年,事隔刚好超过半个世纪。今天的年轻一代对事件的来龙去脉可能印象比较模糊,甚至有人未曾听闻香港曾经发生过六七暴动。不过,当年事件的亲历者肯定记忆犹新。」他续表示:「1967年是战后香港最动荡的一年,岭南大学也在这多难多变的一年在香港复校。六七暴动不但为香港社会带来即时的冲击,也在一定程度上影响了一代人的成长路向。」郑校长亦代表岭南大学感谢香港见证1967有限公司资助岭大成立该资料库,为岭大发展六七暴动研究学术平台打下坚实的基础,并祝愿计划顺利开展,圆满成功。

 

在郑校长见证下,香港见证1967有限公司主席及创办人林占士先生、香港见证1967有限公司创办人杨宇杰先生及岭大历史系教授、香港与华南历史研究部主任刘智鹏教授代表双方签署合作备忘录。

 

资料库将以电子形式为主,设於岭南大学图书馆网站内,并开放予公众人士查阅和使用。计划为期3年,拟定由2019年1月启动,并预计於2021年第一季开放使用。

Lingnan University establishes The Hong Kong 1967 Riots Data Base  /f/upload/35804/1967 Ritos_2.jpg

Skip to Main Content
Start main Content

Lingnan Highlights

Lingnan University establishes The Hong Kong 1967 Riots Data Base

Lingnan University establishes The Hong Kong 1967 Riots Data Base

For the preservation and management of relevant information on The Hong Kong 1967 Riots, the Hong Kong 1967 Witnesses Assembly Limited will support Lingnan University in setting up “The Hong Kong 1967 Riots Data Base” as an academic platform to preserve and manage relevant information.  With an aim to help restore the historical picture of the Riots, the database collects, classifies, sorts and systematically stores documents, images, footages and physical objects for access and use by scholars, researchers and the public.  This project is hosted by Lingnan’s Hong Kong and South China Historical Research Programme, and a Memorandum of Understanding was signed on 11 December.

 

In his remarks at the signing ceremony of the memorandum, President Leonard K CHENG said, “This year marks the 51st Anniversary of the 1967 Riots, which means just over half a century has now elapsed.  Today’s younger generation might not have a clear impression of the ins and outs of what happened; some might have never heard of such an incident in Hong Kong.  However, to the witnesses of the incident, they certainly have not forgotten.”  He continued, “1967 was the most turbulent year for Hong Kong after the Second World War.  It was also in this difficult and challenging year that Lingnan University re-established itself in Hong Kong.  The Riots not only brought immediate impact to the Hong Kong society at that time, but also influenced the development of a whole generation of people.”  On behalf of Lingnan University, President Cheng thanked the Hong Kong 1967 Witnesses Assembly Limited for funding the University to establish the database, which has laid a solid foundation for Lingnan to develop an academic platform for researching into the Riots.  He wished the project a smooth launch and every success.

 

The Hong Kong 1967 Witnesses Assembly Limited’s Chairman and Co-founder Mr James A ELMS, along with the other Co-founder Mr YEUNG Yu-Kit, signed a Memorandum of Understanding with Prof LAU Chi-Pang, Professor of Department of History and Co-ordinator of Hong Kong and South China Historical Research Programme at Lingnan, under the witness of President Cheng.

 

The database will be built on digital format hosted on the website of the Library at Lingnan University for public access and use.  The project will last for three years and is scheduled to launch in January 2019.  It is expected to be open for public use in the first quarter of 2021.

Lingnan University establishes The Hong Kong 1967 Riots Data Base  /f/upload/35804/1967 Ritos_2.jpg